A Podcast Worth Listening To

One of the things I love listening to is podcasts. The other day I was listening to an episode of the podcast: On Purpose with Jay Shetty titled 3 Step System Effective People Use To Start the Year Strong where Jay suggests 3 ways to deliberately reset our mindset to start 2021 off right. Below are snippets of what I took away:

1.Mindset: Gratitude 
Kick off 2021 with a new new gratitude practice. Every day for a week each morning when you get up, spend 3 minutes to deeply reflect or dive into one beautiful or meaningful thing someone has done for you in your life. And tell them! Send it to them as a text message, voice mail or video message. Express it! If you set your mindset for gratitude and connection in that way, those will be things you will feel more in 2021 because you will rewire  your brain to look out for and emphasize those things when they happen
.

2. Mechanical:
Pick 1 person from your personal life, one person from your professional life and one person from your family life and ask them the following questions:

Tell me a time when you thought I was at my best.
When was the time when you saw me really perform?
What was one of my qualities that you wish I could work on and develop?
What am I doing right?

3. Map:
Pick a mentor – someone who embodies the qualities you are looking to grow this year. You don’t even have to know your mentor. They don’t even have to be alive. Read their work, watch videos of them speaking, read about their lives, inspiring quotes from them, get a picture of them etc. If it’s someone you know, ask them. 

What great suggestions these are to start fresh by building out our intentions for the year!

For the last couple of years I’ve been cultivating a regular habit of writing down 3 things I am grateful for and one positive experience I had over the past 24 hours. I have certainly come to appreciate the importance of gratitude as I highlighted in my 2 blogposts below:
– What Do You Do in The 1st 30 Minutes After Waking Up?
– Are You Counting Your Blessings?
However, I like Jay’s suggestion of reflecting on one beautiful or meaningful thing someone has done for you in your life and telling them about it. I have implemented it since the 2nd week of Jan 2021 and I am enjoying it so far.

I am also big on reading books and listening to podcasts which has granted me access to mentors far and wide. Every now and then, I yearn for more traditional physical mentor(s) as well – the ones you can meet with or speak to. However this podcast reminded me it’s ok to have mentors of a different kind, whether dead or alive, near or far.

Lastly, what better way to improve yourself than to work on your strengths! I better reach out to those 3 people. I have picked out 2 so far. It’s time to narrow down on my 3rd one.

I look forward to incorporating these suggestions in my life and seeing what impact they’ll have. Has any of these suggestions resonated with you? Pick one, two or all three and test them out in a bid to reset your mindset for the year ahead.

Until next time,
Happy Investing in Yourself!

If you enjoyed this post, kindly rate it by clicking on the 5 stars below:

You may also like:
Chief’s 5 Favourite Books in 2020
Have You Set Your Goals? 2nd Book Worth Reading in 2021
A Book Worth Reading and Listening to in 2021
Reflection of My 2020 Goals
How I Lost Inches In 6 Weeks – Part 1
Reflection of My 2019 Goals
Chief’s 5 Favourite Books in 2019
Chief’s 7 Favourite Books in 2016-2018
–  Did You Achieve Your 2018 Goals? – Reflection of My 2018 Goals
– What Do You Do in The 1st 30 Minutes After Waking Up?
– Are You Counting Your Blessings?
– My 4 Favourite Books in 2017
Have You Written Down Your 2018 Goals? – Reflection of My 2017 Goals
– 
Is Failing to Plan in Detail, Planning to Fail?
– 
Climbing Kilimanjaro (Part 2 of 2: The Tips)
– 
22 Great Books I Read in 2016
– 
Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro – (Part 1 of 2: The Experience)
Why Writing Down Your Goals is Important – Reflection of Our 2016 Goals
– 
An Invaluable Habit I Have Acquired That Takes Only a Few Minutes A Day – Series 1
– 
3 Reasons Why Saving a Large Chunk of Cash in Your Bank Account is Not a Great Idea
– 
Really? Must We Give and Tithe? – Series 1
– 
Why I am training myself to eat my frog everyday!!!
5 Invaluable Nourishments For Your Time – Series 1
– 
Chief’s 1o Favourite Books in 2015
– 
Dee’s 2015 In Review
– 
5 Invaluable Nourishments for Your Health – Series 1

Or my following posts on marriage:
–  Are You Letting Your Guard Down in Your Marriage? – Series 1 (Boundaries)
– When Was The Last Time You Sent Your Loved One a Silly/Loving Audio/Video of Yourself?
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 9 (Financial Leadership & Inclusivity)
Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 8 (Support & Listening Ear)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 7 (Caring & Praying)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 6 (Cuddles & Massages)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 5 (Sorting All Things Cars/Manly & Pocket Money)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 4 (Calls, Texts & Quality Time)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 3 (Special Days & Gifts)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 2 (Praises & Affection)
– Are You Spoiling Your Wife Rotten? – Series 1 (Dates & Getaways)
– Am I Spoiling My Husband Rotten?
– 7 Steps to Restoring Broken Relationships
– Are You Struggling to Forgive Him or Her?
– Are you Investing in Your Marriage?
– Are You Choosing To Be Happy As Opposed To Be Right All The Time In Your Marriage?
The Important Daily 10 Second Kiss in Marriage
– Invaluable Benefits of Knowing, Understanding & Communicating Your Spouse’s Love Language
– Recreational Companionship – The 2nd Most Important Need For a Man
– Take Time to Touch (If Only for a Minute) Once a Day
– 19 Invaluable Nourishment(s) For Your Marriage

For more invaluable insights on my journey of marriage and life, do  pop into the “Devotions/Life Insights” section on my blog every now and then.

You can also pop into the “DeeLicious Gourmet by Dee” section for a glimpse of some of the yummy but healthy dishes I have prepared while “cooking up a storm” in my kitchen (together with the recipes):
Breakfasts
Starters
Main Courses
Salads
Eggless, Wheat-Free Desserts
– Snacks

Thank you!
Dee

Leave a comment